Go Back  PPRuNe Forums > Wannabes Forums > Professional Pilot Training (includes ground studies)
Reload this Page >

UK ATOs with non-UK EASA training Approvals

Professional Pilot Training (includes ground studies) A forum for those on the steep path to that coveted professional licence. Whether studying for the written exams, training for the flight tests or building experience here's where you can hang out.

Old 22nd Jun 2020, 08:47

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi Folks,

Does anyone happen to know which UK ATOs (if any) have managed to get non-UK EASA approval in place for their flight training for the post Brexit 2021 world?

I am a modular student a few months from the end of ATPL theory and I had a UK ATO in mind for CPL/ME/IR and was expecting to finish my training this year and qualify for an EASA licence. However, since COVID has intervened so spectacularly that time frame is looking less likely so I am having to look again at where to complete my training.

My employment ambitions are primarily UK based on not actually in the airlines as such so if it all works out how I would like it to in the end the EASA licence probably isn't necessary, but I would be more comfortable keeping as many options open as possible at this stage.

Of course I will be phoning around myself but if anyone knows about any ATOs with those approvals and/or any recent experience of them I would be grateful to know!

Thanks
Old 22nd Jun 2020, 22:30

I am a modular student a few months from the end of ATPL theory and
Not clear if you have already thought of securing your ATPL theory exams to be and to remain EASA approved in the first place?
There is a short thread answering to some of that, PPRuNe search option will find you more on the subject. And look for posts by Alex Whittingham.
ATPL Brexit Theory Advice

For the flight training part, there's a list of UK ATOs that appear to have secured EASA life after BREXIT.
https://www.easa.europa.eu/sites/def...ALS_200130.pdf